In order to first discuss reckless driving, it is important to know that reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. Reckless driving misdemeanor in Virginia is also on the same level of offense as driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Any person who gets convicted or involved in an accident as a result of reckless driving while driving with an increasing speed over the posted legal speed limit or speeds a little too fast, he or she will be charged with the misdemeanor on the same level as a DUI.
Reckless driving misdemeanor in Virginia has different types of reckless driving situations and circumstances. To understand fully about reckless driving misdemeanor in Virginia, you need to start with the basics, such as the speeding ticket; it is a piece of paper which you receive from the law enforcement officer or the patrol officer for going over the posted legal speed limit for any zone. There are other reckless driving misdemeanor offenses in Virginia, which can also have you pay the fine charges. Reckless driving misdemeanor in Virginia can have such offenses for which you need to be present in court.
Reckless Driving Misdemeanor in Virginia Offenses
Most reckless driving misdemeanor offenses or crimes are solely being based on speeding or crossing over the legal posted speed limit. Reckless driving misdemeanor offenses in Virginia can include going at a speed of 80 miles per hour or even going with a speed of 20 miles per hour or even more above the posted legal speed limit. Such reckless driving misdemeanor crimes or offenses come under the Virginia code. Therefore, if you cross a legal speed limit then it would be also counted as a reckless driving misdemeanor in Virginia.
Reckless driving misdemeanor in Virginia can also be applied if you are going 11 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, Code § 46.2-862. Some areas such as the interstate in Virginia can even have a posted legal speed limit of the 7legal speed limit. Likewise, if you fail to maintain control when an accident has occurred then the law enforcement has the authority to charge you with a reckless driving misdemeanor in Virginia. This a case usually happens if the law enforcement officer thinks that you’re the source of the accident due to your reckless driving behavior. Such a kind of accident occurs because of your failure to maintain control or the appropriate speed limit of your vehicle.
Other Reckless Driving Misdemeanor in Virginia
Even if a law enforcement officer thinks or assumes that you have passed a school bus, while it was in a stationary mode and stopped to load or unload child, then you will be charged with a reckless driving misdemeanor and liable to get a reckless driving ticket. This comes under the VA Code § 46.2-85. However, for such a reckless driving misdemeanor in Virginia, you need to prove a number of justifications or specific items. The court takes this sort of reckless driving misdemeanor in Virginia very seriously.