What is the average fine for reckless driving in Virginia

Reckless driving- A criminal offense

Reckless driving in virginal is known as a criminal offense due to its potential consequence. A careless act while driving can be dangerous for the driver as well as for the innocent victims who are not at any fault. According to the reckless driving law code of Virginia, section 46.2-852:

What is the average fine for reckless driving in Virginia

“Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.”

In order to maintain the safety of people on roads, Virginia deals with reckless driving and speeding laws very strictly.

  1. Recklessly racing on the highway
  2. Recklessly driving and damaging any property

Penalties for reckless driving

If you are charged with a reckless driving offense, you are subjected to harsh punishment in Virginia. In Virginia, reckless driving is categorized as a class 1 misdemeanor and the convicted drivers have to face one or more of the following punishments:

  1. Imprisonment for a maximum period of 12 months
  2. Suspension of your driving license for a maximum period of 6 months
  3. Heavy fines which can lead up to $2500
  4. The reckless driving ticket will reflect on the driving record at least two to eleven years
  5. One might face hiked insurance premiums
  6. Demerit points are allotted for reckless driving in Virginia. Department of a motor vehicle maintains these records.
  7. Potential career loss due to imprisonment, or suspension of driving license
  8. In case of suspension of the driving license, one is dependent on public mode of transportation

Average fines for reckless driving in Virginia.

If you are charged with a reckless driving ticket, the first thing that comes to your mind is how much will I be paying for a reckless driving ticket. Are the charges similar to a speeding ticket? The answer to this question gets trickier as you need to understand what the elements of reckless driving are. Being a class 1 misdemeanor, the fine for reckless driving can lead up to $2500, but the usual charges in Virginia for reckless driving range from $300 to $1000 excluding the court’s $80 fee.

Elements of reckless driving:

There are total 14 reckless driving elements commonly charged by the Virginia law enforcement authorities:

  1. Reckless driving, generally
  2. Recklessly racing on the roads of Virginia
  3. Reckless driving by speeding
  4. Recklessly driving and ignoring the road signals
  5. Reckless driving irrespective of speed
  6. Recklessly driving on a curving road
  7. Recklessly overtaking without giving proper indications
  8. Recklessly passing a railroad
  9. Recklessly driving alongside with a vehicle in the same lane
  10. Reckless driving in the parking lot
  11. Recklessly driving a vehicle with a faulty break
  12. Recklessly driving an overloaded vehicle
  13. Recklessly crossing alongside another vehicle in the same lane
  14. Reckless driving while passing near a stopped school bus
This entry was posted in Lawyer. Bookmark the permalink.